Congratulations, 2019 OHS Honours & Awards Winners!

Congratulations, 2019 OHS Honours & Awards Winners!
2019 Honours & Awards Recipients


President’s Award: Friends of Grain Elevators

Indigenous History Award: Lake of the Woods Museum and Partners’ Shiibaashka’Igan: Honouring the Sacred Jingle Dress

Dorothy Duncan Public History Award: Champlain Society Podcast: “Witness to Yesterday/Témoin d’hier”

Cemetery Preservation Award: Ed Janiszewski: Lakeshore Psychiatric Hospital Cemetery

Cruikshank Medal: Thorold Tronrud

Fred Landon Award: Dieter K. Buse and Graeme S. Mount, for Untold: Northeastern Ontario’s Military Past, volumes 1&2 (Latitude 46 Publishing, 2019)

Alison Prentice Award: Kate Armstrong, for The Stone Frigate: The Royal Military College’s First Female Cadet Speaks Out (Dundurn Press, 2019)

J. J. Talman Award: Stacie Burke, for Building Resistance: Children, Tuberculosis, and the Toronto Sanatorium (McGill-Queens University Press, 2019)

Huguenot Society of Canada Award: Suzanne Methot, for Legacy: Trauma, Story, and Indigenous Healing (ECW Press, 2019)

Donald Grant Creighton Award: Dan Robson, for Bower: A Legendary Life (Harper Collins Canada, 2019)

Riddell Award: Gwen Reimer, for “British-Canada’s Land Purchases, 1783-1788: A Strategic Perspective,” Published in Ontario History, Spring 2019.