Board of Directors

Diverse team of volunteers

Board of Directors 2018-19

PresidentCaroline Di CoccoBright's Grove
First Vice PresidentMichel S. BeaulieuThunder Bay
Second Vice PresidentRoss FairToronto
Past PresidentJoe StaffordKingston
TreasurerSerge DucharmeField
SecretaryAllan J. MacdonellGreen Valley
DirectorCarolyn KingHagerville
DirectorGabriella Colussi ArthurToronto
DirectorKristin IvesLeamington
DirectorJanie Cooper-WilsonElmvale
DirectorIan RadforthToronto
DirectorMark PlishewskyOshawa
DirectorJan Haskings-WinnerToronto
Ex-Officio | Executive DirectorRob LevertyToronto
Ex-Officio | Editor, Ontario HistoryThorold TronrudThunder Bay

New Board Members

At the 130th Annual General Meeting of The Ontario Historical Society (OHS), held at the Japanese Canadian Cultural Centre in North York, one new board member was elected to complement the board’s already diverse team of volunteers.

OHS President Caroline Di Cocco reported on the nomination of Jan Haskings-Winner of Toronto, who was accepted by the voting members present at the annual meeting.

As a provincial heritage organization, the Society serves all Ontarians. Its board of directors reflects the diversity of the province by ensuring a mix and balance of different cultural and professional backgrounds with representation from all regions of Ontario.

Welcome to Ms. Haskings-Winner!

Jan Haskings-Winner grew up in southwestern Ontario (Chatham, Sarnia, and Windsor, and some smaller villages too), and earned her BA, BEd and MEd at the University of Toronto.

She has been teaching History for over 30 years, in Malaysia, northern Ontario (Englehart), Lindsay, and Toronto – including a maternity home, Regent Park, and currently at the school her mother and grandfather attended. She was seconded to teach at the Ontario Institute for Studies in Education (OISE) (History and Economics), and was board consultant for History, Economics, Law and Politics. She also teaches online History Additional Qualifications continuing education programs for teachers.

Jan is the author of several history textbooks, including Canadian Sources Investigated, which uses primary sources to teach history. She co-chairs OJEN (Ontario Justice Education Network), and is past president of OHASSTA (Ontario History and Social Sciences Teachers Association).


Chair NameCommittee
Allan MacdonnellAffiliated Societies Committee
Serge DucharmeAudit and Finance Committee
Caroline Di CoccoGovernment Relations Committee
Ian RadforthHonours and Awards Committee
Ross FairHuman Resources Committee
Carolyn KingIndigenous Affairs Committee
Serge DucharmeInvestment Committee
Kristin IvesMuseums Committee
Michel S. BeaulieuOntario History Committee
Janie Cooper-WilsonPreservation and Cemeteries Committee
Joe StaffordYouth Initiatives Committee

OHS Past Presidents

This video is also available on the OHS YouTube channel here.

OHS Past Presidents Reflect on 125 Years

On November 4th, 2013, the 28th Lieutenant Governor of Ontario David C. Onley held a reception at Queen’s Park to celebrate the 125th anniversary of The Ontario Historical Society. In attendance were students from Waterdown District High School’s Student Parliament, under the supervision of Nathan Tidridge, historical educator and friend of the OHS. During the celebrations, secondary student Joelle Easter interviewed Past Presidents of The Ontario Historical Society’s Board of Directors about their tenure with the OHS, and their reflections on the role and impact of the Society.


1. Download and Print the Nomination Form (word/.doc), and mail the completed form to:

The Ontario Historical Society
c/o OHS Nominating Committee
34 Parkview Avenue
Willowdale, ON
M2N 3Y2

2. Download and electronically complete the Nomination Form, and e-mail the form as an attachment to